Dividend Increase – ACN , KMI

Accenture (ticker: ACN) declared a semi-annual dividend on the company’s common stock of $1.10 per share for the first half of FY16 (August 31st Fiscal Year End), a 7.8% increase over the dividend paid for the same period a year ago. This is the 5th consecutive year the company has raised its dividend.However, this is disappointing to me because when I initiated a position, my expectation was that ACN would continue a double-digit dividend growth for at least another 10 years because the 4-year DAGR was then 25%.

Let’s look at its recent dividend growth.
0.45->0.675(50%)->0.81(20%)->0.93(15%)->1.02(9.6%)->1.1(7.8%)

Trend tells that the growth rate of its dividend has been diminishing. I cannot expect a double-digit increase any more.
With this increase, YOC of my ACN position will become 2.9% and I have about 40% unrealized gain in this position. For the next year, I will receive a $110 gross dividend from ACN.

Kinder Morgan Inc (KMI) announced that its quarterly cash dividend would increase from $0.49 to $0.51 per share by 4.08% and payable on Nov 13, 2015 to shareholders on record as of Nov 02, 2015. YOC of my KMI position will become 5.4%. In other words, KMI will pay me $408 dividend for the next year. However, my KMI position is out of money. The value of my KMI position has down by 22.8% since the initiation.

Disclosure: Long ACN, KMI

コメントを残す

