Dividend Update – TD, VZ

As I said in the past posts again and again, I have US stocks not only at my E*Trade account, but also at my Japanese brokerage account. In the latter case, I don’t directly own stocks, but my Japanese brokerage owns my shares on behalf of me.  Trading at the Japanese brokerage costs me $27 per trade and there is always delay (about a week) when I receive dividends. So it is not very convenient for me. However, Japan’s tax authority is not happy if I frequently wire my money to E*Trade in the US from my Japanese bank. Reluctantly I need to continue to trade US stocks at my Japanese brokerage although it doesn’t make sense economically.

On April 30 I received $41.76 from TD and on May 1 VZ paid me $50.6 as dividend. These are all pre-tax basis (my dividend income is subject to both US and Japanese income tax and it it a bit complicated to calculate an actual tax. Therefore I decided to report my dividend income on a pre-tax basis in this blog).

With TD’s dividend, my total gross dividend income for April amounts to $1,272.02 and thanks to VZ’s dividend my gross dividend income for May thus far is $520.02.

By the way, on my way to home from the office, I got an alert that Verizon Wireless would acquire AOL for $4B. I was very disappointed about this news. This $4B is a total waste of money and VZ should have returned that much money to our shareholders. In my view AOL is not a growth engine for VZ and VZ management will fail to integrate AOL into VZ without destructing values. How do you think? Please let me your analysis of this corporate merger.

コメントを残す

